| Hardware needed | A scanner, an office copier or a smartphone. No optical reader to buy. Papeez features | A phone or tablet: the pricing page lists Android and iOS mobile grading apps as the grading tool on both tiers. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pricing page describes a digital and paper assessment solution without naming any capture device or hardware requirement. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | A dedicated OMR reader: the store lists the iNSIGHT 1500c, iNSIGHT 700c, iNSIGHT 4 ES, OpScan 4 ES and Scantron Score machines. store.scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | None: the vendor states you can have a solution in place "within days without purchasing any equipment". akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the Get Started guide has a "Scan exams" step but names no scanner or device requirement. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | A phone and one printed card per student: the app scans the room with the phone camera. help.plickers.com, What is Plickers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Answer sheets | Nominative or anonymous grids · Custom layout (columns, answer boxes) Papeez pricing grid | Plain paper: 20, 50 and 100-question forms as PDF or PNG, plus a custom answer sheet wizard. The vendor advises printing "on standard white copier paper". zipgrade.com/forms · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pricing page does not describe the answer form or how it is produced. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Proprietary pre-printed forms, described by the vendor as "the gold standard in high-speed OMR hardware and custom-printed forms". scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Plain paper: the vendor states you "use regular paper and any scanner". akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | The Get Started guide documents a "Create a bubble sheet assignment" workflow; the paper itself is not described on the pages read. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Not an answer sheet: a reusable card per student, printed free from the vendor as a standard set of forty, with sturdier versions sold on Amazon. help.plickers.com, Get Plickers Cards · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Scanning device accepted | Scanner, office copier or smartphone; PDF, JPG and PNG files are accepted. Papeez features | The phone camera, through the mobile grading app. The pages read describe no desktop or copier workflow. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Its own OMR readers, sold in the store alongside their rollers and separator parts. store.scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | "Any scanner", in a scanning system the vendor describes as self-serve, central, or both. akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | The guide covers scanning exams and uploading the scans, and separately lets students submit from the Gradescope mobile app. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | The teacher's phone camera, held up to the room: the scanner identifies all the cards at once. help.plickers.com, Scan your students' answers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Shuffled versions | Shuffling at four levels (choices, questions, exercises, sections), with a unique paper per participant. Papeez features | Multiple key versions on both tiers. The pages read describe answer keys, not generated question papers. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pages read sell hardware, forms and services, and do not describe exam authoring. scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated in the Get Started guide. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Not applicable: one question is shown to the whole room at a time and answered by turning a card, so there is no paper to shuffle. help.plickers.com, What is Plickers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Anonymity and barcodes | Nominative or anonymous grids, and a unique barcode on every printed copy. Papeez features | The 50 and 100-question forms carry a student ID section, of five and nine digits respectively; the 20-question form has none. zipgrade.com/forms · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the store lists form references without describing what identifies a candidate on them. store.scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | The guide has a step for uploading scans and associating them with students; how the association is made is not described on the pages read. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Each card carries its own barcode pattern, which is what attributes an answer to a student. There are sixty-three patterns, so a class is capped at sixty-three. help.plickers.com, Cards Overview · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Question import | AI import · Excel, TXT, XML template import Papeez pricing grid | Not stated for questions. The paid tier imports a class roster from CSV, which is a list of students, not a list of questions. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated for questions. The pricing page describes roster syncing from Classlink, Clever or SFTP. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. akindi.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the guide covers creating assignments in the product, not importing a question bank. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. help.plickers.com, What is Plickers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Export formats | Grade export · Paper export · Grade mail merge Papeez pricing grid | CSV export and item analysis, on the paid tier only. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Grade transfer "to most online gradebooks", plus integration with Canvas, Schoology and Google Classroom. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pages read list scanners, software names and services without naming an output format. scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | LMS integration is listed as included in every annual licence; no file format is named on the pages read. akindi.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated in the Get Started guide, which covers reviewing and publishing grades inside the product. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. help.plickers.com, What is Plickers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Hosting and GDPR | Hosting in France · GDPR compliance Security and GDPR at Papeez | Not stated: the pages read name no hosting region. The company gives a United States postal address. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pages read do not say where a hosted deployment would run. scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. akindi.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. gradescope.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. plickers.com · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Price model | Subscription per examiner, from €4/month billed yearly, with a graded-paper quota per plan. The pricing page is the authority. Papeez pricing grid | Free up to one hundred papers a month; $6.99 for one year of unlimited grading, sold as a non-recurring subscription that prompts rather than renews. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | $3.50 per student, packages starting at $2,800 a year plus a one-time onboarding charge whose amount is not published. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | The readers carry no price in the store; the consumables do. The 882-E 100-question answer sheet is listed at $18.00 for a pack of fifty. store.scantron.com, 882-E answer sheet · read 14 August 2026 | An annual licence priced on "the total number of individual student tests graded through Akindi, regardless of the number of instructors signed up". No figure is published. akindi.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Two plans: a free Basic plan, and an Institutional plan whose price is not published and reached through a contact form. gradescope.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Free: the vendor describes it as "the free card activity your students will love", with printable cards always offered free to teachers. help.plickers.com, Get Plickers Cards · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Buying route | Self-serve: sign up online with a free 14 days trial, no credit card. Papeez pricing grid | Self-serve: download the app, then buy through in-app purchase or the account screen. School bulk purchasing is offered separately. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Sales-led for schools and districts: the pricing page ends on a demo request. A free trial for teachers is offered from the site header. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Forms are bought from the online store; the readers are not, and the site invites you to "talk with an expert" instead. store.scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Sales-led: the pricing page offers a thirty-day free pilot and a demo request, with no checkout. akindi.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Both: the Basic plan starts for free without sales, and the Institutional plan runs through a contact form after a one-term trial. gradescope.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Self-serve: the home page offers a free sign-up and nothing else. plickers.com · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|
| Offline capability | No: the exam is on paper, but the scans are uploaded to an online service to be graded. Papeez features | Yes: "No Internet Required" is listed as available on both the free and the paid tier. zipgrade.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page. gradecam.com/pricing · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated: the pages read cover both on-site machines and hosted software without saying which needs a connection. scantron.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated on the pages read. akindi.com · read 24 August 2026 | Not stated in the Get Started guide. gradescope.com/get_started · read 24 August 2026 | Yes: the vendor states that "sessions can even be taken offline if no internet connection is available". help.plickers.com, What is Plickers · read 24 August 2026 |
|---|